TMT: Without You

This week’s mixtape theme is “Addicted to You.” This theme can go in several directions, and  I chose to not follow any one direction. Instead I included some of my favorites, and some new songs I found while searching for the perfect addiction songs….

It’s tried and true, a popular song that still gets a lot of karaoke play, and you know she just won’t go away…

And I’m here to remind you
Of the mess you left when you went away
It’s not fair to deny me
Of the cross I bear that you gave to me
You, you, you oughta know

Is she obsessed or what? Speaking of obsession, it comes in many forms. Sometimes it’s love, but sometimes it’s lust…

You are an obsession
I cannot sleep
I am your possession
Unopened at your feet
There’s no balance
No equality
Be still I will not accept defeat

Defeat…sometimes you just can’t get over them. Sometimes you think you can get them back if you just wait.

I sit here on the stairs
Cause I’d rather be alone
If I can’t have you right now I’ll wait, dear
Sometimes I get so tense
But I can’t speed up the time
But you know, love, there’s one more thing to consider

And sometimes you’re smart enough to realize that you’ll get over them someday, when pigs fly and hell freezes over…

I’ll move on baby just like you
When the desert floods and the grass turns blue
When a sailing ship don’t need her moon
It’ll break my heart but I’ll get through
Someday when I stop loving you

And sometimes, you just can’t get them out of your mind and even when you know it’s bad, it can absolutely drive you to madness…

I tried so hard to let you go
But some kind of madness is swallowing me whole, yeah

And I would be remiss if I didn’t include this creepy kind of obsessive bonus track for you…

I’m in the background on the radio
I’m in your car, in your house, waiting at your door
Under your footsteps, I’m everything you know
Just let me haunt, Let me haunt, Let me be your ghost
Let me haunt, Let me haunt, Let me be your ghost

And that’s another Twisted Mixtape Tuesday!

mixtape_jenkehl_200

11 comments

  1. Yes, I’m late but I’m so glad I stopped to read this because….Patience!! Oh I love that song! My kids love when I sing it, too. At least I think they do. They must, right?

    Like

  2. first of all…your header is gorgeous…ok now to the music…I cannot believe I didn’t think of Alanis or Animotion…and I have never heard that Carry Underwood song.

    Like

  3. YEA! You used Obsession! I wanted to and I totally forgot and I couldn’t go back and change my list and now I love you! Thank you. Meanwhile all of the songs are perfect! Thank you so much!

    Like

  4. I’ve always loved Jagged Little Pill (and really, only that album from her – although I have a copy of the teenie bopper one she did before that) so you had me there. But you totally won me over with Patience. One of the my all time favourites! Great list!

    Like

Here's YOUR write side. Fill it up!